Standard Review MethodsGo to your company profile. phone or text message, answer the call or open the text with the code, enter the code on your profile. Google is responsible for sending you a postcard with a unique code to your address to confirm the location of your business. Whether you’re a local mainstay or just starting a business, your Google business profile makes it easy for consumers to discover, learn about, and contact your business online.

Depending on the nature of your business, you may be instantly validated once you’ve created the business profile and signed in to your Google My Business account. However, to properly optimize your company profile, you need access to it. To access it, you need to check with Google that you are the legal owner. First, find your business profile on Google Maps or Google Search and request to claim it. It may take some time to review your Google Business profile listing, but is required to manage and use your Google Business profile.

Start creating, applying, and verifying through Google My Business today so you can make the most of this incredible and free tool at your disposal. If you haven’t created the business profile, Google will send you a verification code that you enter into your Google Business dashboard. Make sure you’re signed in to the default Google account for your business (and not the default Google account for your personal life). If you are eligible for this option, you will be asked to complete a form that includes a phone number for verification and a CEO email address to confirm that you are an authorized representative.

These are the main benefits of having a Google My Business account. If that’s not enough to convince you, consider the drawbacks if you don’t have one. This method is a bit more complicated than the others, but it’s also used to verify your Google My Business listing. Thankfully, Google has added new verification methods in the form of video uploads and live video calls that are much faster. If your company name is populated in the drop-down menu with an address next to it, it means that your company profile already exists.

Don’t edit your company’s name, address, or category, or request a new code while you wait. This may delay the review process.